T.N. GODAVARMAN THIRUMULPAD

V.

UNION OF INDIA & ORS. (I.A. No. 2016 of 2007)

FEBRUARY 21, 2008

(K.G. BALAKRISHNAN, CJ., DR. ARIJIT PASAYAT AND S.H. KAPADIA, JJ.)

Environment Protection Act. 1986:

s.3(3) – Setting up of Central Empowered Committee – In order to examine the cases of illegal felling of trees, prohibiting mining activities inside National Parks and Wildlife Sanctuaries and other forest areas and regulating establishment of new wood-based industries – Committee constituted, as mentioned in the order - Term of office of CEC would be three years.

CIVIL ORIGINAL JURISDICITON: I.A. No. 2016 of 2007 in Writ Petition (Civil) No. 202 of 1995 Under Article 32 of the Constitution of India.

G.E. Vahanvati, Sol. Genl. for India, R. Mohan, A.S.G., Harish N. Salve, (A.C.), U.U. Lalit, (A.C.), K. Amareswari, Ranjit Kumar, V.B. Singh, K.K. Venugopal, Shobha Dixit, Siddhartha Chowdhury (A.C.), P.K. Manohar, Tapesh Kumar Singh, Dinesh Chandra Pandey, Ajit Kumar Sinha, Haris Beeran (for F. Parmeswaran), Virendra Parmar, Sunita Singh, Varun, Shefali Jain, Binu Tamta, Sushma Suri, Ng. J.R. Luwang, Riku Sarma (for M/s. Corporate Law Group), S.U.K. Sagar, Bina Madhavan, Hemal K. Sheth, (for M/s. Lawyers' Knit & Co.), Manish Goswami, Ashok Panigrahi (for M/s. MAP & Co.), S. Balaji, Lakshmi Jayashankar, M.L. Lahoty Paban K. Sharma, Rachana Srivastava, Rani Chhabra, Anil Kr. Jha, (M/s. Fox Mandal & Co.), J.K. Bhatia, Sridhar Potaraju, Pramod Dayal, Anil Kr. Srivastava, Ritu Raj, Rameshwar Prasad Goyal, V.K. Verma, Ajit Pudussery,

Η

E

В

В

C

- A G. Prakash, Suparna Srivastava, Manish Sharma, Rajesh Srivastava, Jitendra Mohan Sharma and Gopal Singh for the appearing parties.
 - 1. We have considered the suggestions given by learned Solicitor General and learned Amicus Curiae regarding the constitution of the Central Empowered Committee. The composition of CEC shall be as follows:

The Order of the Court was delivered

- (1) Shri P.V. Jayakrishnan, Chairman
- (2) Shri P.R. Mohanty, Director General of Forests, MoEF
- (3) Shri M.K. Jiwrajka, Member Secretary
- (4) Shri S.K. Patnaik
- D (5) Dr. M.K. Muttoo
 - (6) Shri Mahendar Vyas
 - (7) Shri Sanjeev Chaddha (Deputy Secretary)
- E 2. Shri M.K. Jiwrajka is on deputation as of today as he belongs to the cadre of the Forest Officials in the State of Maharashtra which deputation is ordered to be continued till 31.3.2009.
- 3. Term of office of CEC would be three years or until further orders, whichever is earlier.
 - R.P. Interalocutory application disposed of.